

ALTA Conference Register & Former Presidents of ALTA

Association was originally the 'Australasian Universities Law Schools Association'

1945	
1946-47	Professor GW Paton (University of Melbourne)
1947-48	Professor GW Paton (University of Melbourne)
1948-49	Professor AL Campbell (University of Adelaide)
1949-50	Professor FR Beasley (University of Western Australia)
1950-51	Professor FR Beasley (University of Western Australia)
1951-52	Professor J Stone (University of Sydney)
1952-53	Professor RW Baker (University of Tasmania)
1953-54	Professor WN Harrison (University of Queensland)
1954-55	Professor WN Harrison (University of Queensland)
1955-56	Professor RA Blackburn (University of Adelaide)
1956-57	Professor G Sawyer (Australian National University)
1957-58	Professor Z Cowen (University of Melbourne)
1958-59	Professor KO Shatwell (University of Sydney)
1959-60	Professor FR Beasley (University of Western Australia)
1960-61	Professor EI Sykes (University of Queensland)
1961-62	Professor NCH Dunbar (University of Tasmania)
1962-63	Professor AG Davis (University of Auckland)
1963-64	Professor DP O'Connell (University of Adelaide)
1964-65	Professor DP Derham (Monash University)
1965-66	Professor JE Richardson (Australian National University)
1966-67	Professor HAJ Ford (University of Melbourne)
1967-68	Professor DJ Payne (University of Western Australia)
1968-69	Professor ILM Richardson (Wellington)
1969-70	Professor H Tarlo (University of Queensland)
1970-71	Professor HK Lucke (University of Adelaide) till March 1971
1971	Professor AC Castle (University of Adelaide)
1971-72	Professor D Roebuck (University of Tasmania)
1972-73	Professor AB Weston (Papua New Guinea)
1973-74	Professor DE Allan (Monash University)
1974-75	Professor H Whitmore (University of New South Wales)
1975-76	Professor RA Campbell (Canterbury University)
1976-77	Professor DJ Whalan (University of Western Australia)
1977-78	Professor EJ Edwards (University of Western Australia)
1978-79	Dr AJ Bradbrook (University of Melbourne)
1979-80	Professor PBA Sim (University of Otago)
1980-81	Professor JR Peden (Macquarie University)
1981-82	Mr JB Blackwood (University of Tasmania)

l)

Change of Name to 'Australasian Law Teachers Association'

1988-89	Professor DE Fisher (Victoria University of Wellington)
1989-90	Professor DW Greig (Australian National University)
1990-91	Associate Professor SD Hotop (University of Western Australia)
1991-92	Professor D Gardiner (Queensland University of Technology)
1992-93	Professor D Orchard (Canterbury University)
1993-94	Professor K Warner (University of Tasmania)
1994	Professor P O'Malley (La Trobe University)
1995	Professor M Chanock (La Trobe University)
1995-96	Professor A Stewart (Flinders University)
1996-97	Professor D Barker (University of Technology, Sydney)
1997	Professor JS Anderson (University of Otago)
1998	Professor Kenneth Sutton (University of Otago)
1998-99	Professor B Brooks (Victoria University of Wellington)
1999-00	Ms KP Whitford (University of Canberra)
2000-01	Professor R Hughes (University of the South Pacific)
2001-02	Professor R Simmons (Murdoch University)
2002-03	Professor R Hunter (Griffith University)
2003-04	Professor N Aughterson (Charles Darwin University)
2004-05	Professor J Farrar (University of Waikato)
2005	Dr Murray Raff (Victoria University)
2006	Professor Murray Raff (Victoria University)
2006-07	Professor William Ford (University of Western Australia)
2007-08	Professor Stephen Graw (James Cook University)
2008-09	Professor Michael Adams (University of Western Sydney)
2009-10	Professor Paul Rishworth (The University of Auckland)
2010-11	Professor The Hon. Michael Lavarch (Queensland University of
	Technology
2011-12	Professor Gillian Triggs