top of page
Conference Crowd


Evolution or Revolution?  Challenging Legal Education and Scholarship

7 - 9 July, 2022

Monash University

Melbourne, Australia

& online

Conference 2022: Welcome

Evolution or Revolution?  Challenging Legal Education and Scholarship

Legal education is ever-changing. Legal pedagogies and classrooms have regularly been redeveloped and reimagined, and the experience of law school has evolved not just generation-by-generation, but year-by-year.
The Australian university sector more generally is undergoing a period of significant change, providing both challenges and opportunities. Remote teaching and flexible learning have become entrenched, and we have had to grapple with new ways of working and engaging. In some places, these changes have been rapid and revolutionary, while in others they have been a slower evolution of changes and trajectories that were already taking their course.
The 2022 ALAA Conference asks us to consider whether legal education and scholarship is in a state of evolution or revolution? How is legal education and scholarship being challenged by external forces, and how are we internally challenging legal education and scholarship? What are the defining features of a 2022 law school, law teacher and law student? How can we better reflect the diverse experiences of our student cohort by recognising and redressing disadvantage, especially where this has been exacerbated in recent years? How can we better support both academics and students? How have recent challenges and opportunities presented in different legal disciplines? Which changes should we hold onto, and which should we disregard? And where is further change required, in order to maximise our potential as places of excellent learning, teaching and scholarship?

Conference 2022: Text


Notice of Meeting

DATE AND TIME: 1:00pm - 2:00pm (AEST), Saturday 9 July 2022

VENUE: Monash Law Chambers Boardroom, and Video Conference

CONTACT: ALAA Administrator,

Notice is hereby given that 77th Annual General Meeting of the Australasian Law Academics Association will be held at the ALAA 2021 Conference via Video Conference

The intention is that members of the ALAA Executive will meet at the 2022 ALAA Conference and via video conference to conduct the Annual General Meeting. Association members are requested to facilitate these arrangements by giving notice of their attendance by prior email to

Emeritus Professor David Barker AM


20 June 2022

Image by Thought Catalog
Conference 2022: About


ALAA is extremely grateful for the generosity and support of the host law schools of past conferences.

2021: Online, co-hosted by UTS and University of Sydney, NSW
2019: Southern Cross University NSW
2018: Curtin University WA
2017: University of South Australia SA
2016: Victoria University of Wellington NZ
2015: LaTrobe University VIC
2014: Bond University QLD
2013: Australian National University ACT
2012: University of Sydney NSW
2011: Queensland University of Technology QLD
2010: University of Auckland NZ
2009: University of Western Sydney NSW
2008: James Cook University QLD
2007: University of Western Australia WA
2006: Victoria University VIC 
2005: University of Waikato NZ
2004: Charles Darwin University

Conference 2022: About
bottom of page